By Vincent Wigmans

Buying a private jet is different from purchasing real estate or any other high value asset. The purchase of a private jet is not something you do quickly, as this is a highly regulated area. Many potential buyers are not aware, that since August 2016 each operator/owner of a complex, motor powered aircraft, that is registered in the EU, and operated on non-commercial flights must follow EASA Part NCC (Non-commercial complex) regulations.

In short, this EASA Part NCC regulation means that non-commercial operators/owners must adapt a safety framework, this framework is similar to commercial operators that have an air operator’s certificate (AOC). This “new rule” applies to all non-commercial operators that are flying a complex motor-powered aircraft that are registered within an EASA member state. Aircraft that are not registered in an EASA member state, but where the operator is established or resides in an EASA state also apply.


According to Regulation (EU) 2018/1139, the term ‘complex motor-powered aircraft’ means that at least one of the following is present in the aircraft:

– Has a maximum take-off mass of more than, 5700 kg.

– Has a certified maximum passenger seating configuration of more than 19.

– Is certificated for a minimum crew of two pilots.

– Is equipped with (a) turbojet engine(s) or more than one turboprop engine.


In Part-NCC, safety will be addressed and a structured and risk-based approach to safety must be implemented. Here are some of the items that needs to be set-up:

– Minimum Equipment List (MEL)

– Operations Manual (OM)

– Management System

– Assignment of the aircraft to a Continuing Airworthiness Management Organization (CAMO)

– Audit plan

More information on Part-NCC regulations can be found here.

Considering buying a private jet? Read our blog about the 10 questions you should ask yourself before buying a private jet!

For further questions, please feel free to contact us at You can also call us at +31 (0)15 820 0999.